Jul 15, 2019, 12:25 PM
William Hanshaw
Thread OP
Help!

Need Advice on controlling C/L Dizzyness

Hello, All.
I want to get back to where I started many years ago, into C/L.

I'm an 81 year-old modeler who started C/L in the late '40's when O&R came out with their glow .23! I put the engine in a Testors Freshman 29, and flew it once ending it its fatal crash. But oh what a thrill! In high school I flew mostly 1/2A ships, then later as a young business man, flew larger profile stunt ships with Fox and McCoy.35's. I wasn't a competitive flyer, just flew for fun. And, as a young man, in those days I never got dizzy flying. I went into R/C back in the early 70's, didn't fly C/L from then on until lately. Now, quite late in life, I want to go back to C/L for fun and to relive those great times!

I've recently tried to resume flying C/L, but I get really dizzy (and anxious) after a few laps so my buddy takes over. ] I'm converting a Flite Streak to electric, and plan to control its outrunner motor with the throttle channel on a small Tx I'.ll mount on my belt. That way I can immediately slow or cut the motor when I start to get dizzy, and land. Using that rig will keep me from having to rely on an on-board adjustable timer. Has anyone done their motor control this way?

Do you fellows have some advice on conquering dizzyness while flying? I've tried just standing and circling in my home but it hasn't helped much as yet.

Is there maybe a non-habit forming, drug I can obtain OTC to control my dizzyiness? Or a prescription drug I can get my MD to authorize?
I sure would appreciate some good feedback on how to keep from dizziness while flying!

Thanks in advance for your comments!
Bill H. Fort Worth TX AMA31631
to remove ads between posts
Jul 15, 2019, 12:38 PM