Jul 03, 2019, 01:38 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Homemade 2.5m RC glider

Hello

I'm new here. I wanted to show my Homemade R/C Glider that I am going to fly it sometime this weekend.

It has 2.5 m wingspan and made out of foam. Wings are cut with hot wire foam cutter.
It weighs 1.24 Kg (or) 43.74 oz
Wing Loading - 0.255 gram/sq.cm (or) 8.378 oz/sq.ft
I did a glide test with it and it glides nice and slow.

This is what my glider looks like :-
Do you like it??

And I am basically a newbie pilot. I only did a couple of minutes of flight time with my self designed R/C trainer
I am a little nervous. So, do you have any suggestions for a successful maiden flight?? Thanks
Last edited by Aaindthu; Jul 03, 2019 at 01:53 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 03, 2019, 01:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaindthu
And I am basically a newbie pilot. I only did a couple of minutes of flight time.
I am a little nervous. So, do you have any suggestions for a successful maiden flight?? Thanks
You asked for suggestions:
Do NOT fly that airplane. With only two minutes flight time you are definitely going to crash it and probably damage it significantly.
Build one of the super simple beginner airplanes (there are several popular designs right here on this site) and practice with that first.
You can simply remove the electronics from that for the beginner airplane if you can't get duplicates.
Jul 03, 2019, 02:25 AM
Thread OP
"nuteman"

thank you for your reply. But, why? This is just a GLIDER. I mean it's not an EDF jet or delta plane.

And it is going to fly slow. What could possibly go wrong?

Please do watch my video of flying my homemade RC trainer plane

Homemade RC Plane from India, Maiden flight (2 min 23 sec)
Jul 03, 2019, 04:00 AM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuteman
You asked for suggestions:
Do NOT fly that airplane. With only two minutes flight time you are definitely going to crash it and probably damage it significantly.