Jul 02, 2019, 06:59 PM
Old Newb
Thread OP
Discussion

First composite DLG

I probably should give a brief background.
Iím a 60 year old relative newbie of 4 years. I mainly fly foam slopers. As a shift worker I canít access regular RC clubs and have to use crash and learn technology. I have limited build experience but fairly skilled in TX setup. Running a Spektrum DX9.

Flying Dream-Flite Alula and Libelle discus launched from a field near home brings me a great deal of pleasure and gets me out of the house. Quite happy to spend 3-4 hours there, toss and catch.

Figured itís time to jump up to a composite DLG, here lies the problem. I have no idea what to buy?

Iím at an age where I can afford something nice, but on the other hand. Watching a 1800 USD DLG spear into the ground wonít be pretty.

Iím leaning to one of the 1 metre models simply as a cost effective jump, thinking I may crash the thing. Readily available crash parts would be good.

Iíd appreciate some suggestions on a purchase.

Many thanks
Bill Snape
to remove ads between posts
Jul 02, 2019, 07:55 PM
Time for me to Fly...
Bill,

If 1800 USD means one thousand eight hundred US dollars, they don't cost that much, even new. At least they don’t here in the US. I have a friend that has what looks like a nearly new Polaris. If you’re interested in a very nice used plane, I’ll put the two of you in touch with each other. I don’t know what he’s asking but I’ll bet it’s in the $500 or less range.
Latest blog entry: Something old is new again
Jul 02, 2019, 08:11 PM
Wayne Wimbish
Considering that Bill is Down Under, I would suggest a kit from a vendor which ships world wide. Coming frome a Libelle and Alula, I would suggest a new Deviant 1M from Armsoar. Easy to build out and flies amazingly well.

Other possibilities would be the Malibu, Hawk, or Strike 3, all of which I think are available from Hyperflight.
Latest blog entry: Paying for Purchases by PayPal
Jul 02, 2019, 08:12 PM
The Mr. Rogers of RC soaring