This thread is privately moderated by Miami Mike, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jun 29, 2019, 01:58 PM
e^(iπ) + 1 = 0
Thread OP
Discussion

Tent camping at the Soaring NATS

I'd like to get a discussion going here about tent camping, or "primitive camping", during the 2019 Soaring NATS. I've never done this before so hopefully I'll hear from people who have and we can all share thoughts and ideas.

Here are some links and images:I was told that there are showers at Site #3 and at the back of the museum. Here's a Google Maps aerial view of the layout as I understand it. Please let me know if it's wrong:

If an access code is required for the showers, what time do you have to arrive to get the code? If the office is closed, can someone else get you in?

What's a good time to arrive so that you'll have plenty of time to set up and relax?

Also, I'd appreciate any advice on what to bring, what to do about meals, etc.

Thanks!
to remove ads between posts
Jun 29, 2019, 06:22 PM
JimN8UAY
Hey Mike, pretty easy set up. You will probably drive between showers, campsite and flight line. Showers are open most of the week behind the AMA museum (this used to be a great little secret years ago when the powers to be wanted everyone using the showers by the RV campsite. Long story...) which are pretty much open throughout the event. There isn't a passcode needed unless that is new this year. The Bathhouse at the RV park may be a different story since I haven't used that site in many years, so maybe they keep it locked. They are usually always open. Yes, your layout looks right, pretty straight forward. The showers (there are only 2 stalls at the AMA museum, A/C, sink and toilet) can get backed up with pilots early in the day and after flying, so sometimes it's a crap shoot how long you might need to wait to get in.