Jun 26, 2019, 10:20 AM
Thread OP
Help!

Cannot Flash Firmware on new Naze32 Acro Rev 6.

Hi, I'm completely new to Quadcopter building. I just started a month ago.

I didn't know much about Flight Controllers and with very minimal research I decided to buy a Naze32 Rev 6 for about $25.

Right out of the box, I'm not being able to flash the firmware onto the FC from Clean flight. I have scampered around multiple online forums and YouTube videos for solutions, to no avail.

The flashing proceeds and when it gets to verifying it fails showing the error “STM32 timed out programming failed”.
Or the flashing bar doesn't even start and it shows
“Could not connect to Bootloader”

Here is the list of things I've tried:
Changing USB cable, making sure it's a data cable
Changing the manual baud rates
Trying different firmwares (old and latest)
Changing Laptops
I've tried to short the Bootloader Pads (soldering and also just shorting them using a piece of copper wire) and then select “No booting sequence”. I've tried to (a) keep the pads shorted throughout the flashing process (b) keeping the pads shorted while connecting the FC and then removing the short before flashing
I know the Naze 32 Rev 6 uses CP2102. Accordingly I've installed Zadig and the lastest CP2102 Driver installers from Clear Flight home page. I've selected the FC in Zadig and changed it to WinUSB. And then I've gone to “Universal Serial Bus devices” and installed a new driver.
I've tried to use different combinations, adjusting manual baud rates, selecting the option to erase the existing data on the board.

I'm feeling very lost and dejected. Please help.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 26, 2019, 02:39 PM
when you did your 'minimal research' did you see all the replies that said not to buy a Naze32'X'* ?
Jun 26, 2019, 10:11 PM
Thread OP
I didn't know about these forums. So I didn't check them. I bought after reading some articles from websites about flight controllers.
Jun 27, 2019, 08:39 AM