Jun 20, 2019, 07:37 PM
I'm a pilot, 100 yrs too late
Thread OP
Question

Small Z-Bends Needed

I have a pair of standard size Z - Bend pliers for the normal plastic\resin control horns but need smaller Sized Z's for a park type flier with thin ply control horns. What'st the best way to do this?

I've got needle nose type pliers the nose on those is to thick.
I have hemostats that while thinner in the nose aren't strong enough to hold during the bend.
I tried putting them in the vise but things get cumbersome real fast.

There must be a way to do this out there or I may just resort to these, but I dont know the diameter of the wire in the kit. I may just order a pack of each .32, .47, .62
http://www.dubro.com/collections/con...z-link-for-062

Thanks
Mike
to remove ads between posts
Jun 20, 2019, 07:49 PM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
E/Z links are great for control horns , E/Z connectors are great for servo arms .
https://www.dubro.com/collections/co...-e-z-connector
Dubro has larger sizes .
Jun 20, 2019, 07:55 PM
Thread OP
ok... so I'll go with what I thought...
Anything i need to do to keep that pressured fit screw from coming loose against the pushrod on the EZ Connector
Jun 20, 2019, 08:15 PM
Build, crash...repeat
The EZ links work great for thin wire pushrods. The EZ Connectors don’t come loose but if you’re worried I guess you can use a little threadlocker.
Jun 20, 2019, 08:17 PM
IMO ( In My Opinion ) →
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin
ok... so I'll go with what I thought...
Anything i need to do to keep that pressured fit screw from coming loose against the pushrod on the EZ Connector
You can use some thread lock on the screw on top if you want . The nylon snap washer or metal push-on washer on the bottom stays on well ..... in normal use : there's really no force that will pull them off .
Jun 20, 2019, 10:39 PM
treefinder
You can make a "modified Z bend" as tight as you want:

(2 min 29 sec)
Last edited by springer; Jun 21, 2019 at 08:06 AM.