Jun 18, 2019, 08:50 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Keil Kraft Eeze-Bilt Mermaid

I've just printed out plans for the Mermaid from Dodgy's excellent website. I've never built a proper RC boat model before as I normally build aircraft.

I seem to have sorted out the necessary RC gear and hardware so I'm hoping to provide a fairly detailed build thread. I expect to have plenty of questions so please chip in with suggestions - all criticism is welcome

Jon
to remove ads between posts
Jun 18, 2019, 03:51 PM
Boaters are nice people.
Nice, looking forward to your build!

Regards, Jan.
Jun 19, 2019, 09:39 AM
Thread OP
Thanks Jan

Had an enjoyable start this afternoon.

I cut the pieces for the first few steps shown on the instructions. I'm using up some hard balsa that is too heavy for most aircraft applications - man it's dense stuff and I'm not used to working with it! I stick the printed parts sheet on the balsa with Prit Stick and cut out with a scalpel and metal ruler or french curves. For the curved parts I flipped one side to make the other for symmetry.

I'm using thin CA to run into the gaps whiles holding the assembly together. A piece of parcel tape on the desk allows you to hold the sheet parts flat without sticking them to it. The parts fit so far has been excellent - I wasn't sure if the joints would be close enough for thin CA (which is not gap filling) but the parts sheet is outstanding. I've been using a little Stanley needle file to open out and square off the slots for a press fit. Really liking the self jigging Eezebilt style.

The only issue I've had is with the central bulkhead. The cutout in the deck is 1/16" too wide, easy enough to fill with scrap balsa but I will wait to see what other bits might fit there. The forward bulkhead wasn't quite right in the same area but since the error was on the tight side it was easy to cut a bit more away from the deck slot.