Concept X5 DLG Review

Jason builds and flys a Concept X5 in preparation for the 2019 World Championships. Check out the build and his thoughts on this competitive DLG.

Splash

Introduction

Wingspan: 1.5M
Length: 1.07M
Flying Weight: Standard 226g / Textreme 237g
Servos: KST X08H V5
Receiver: Jeti R6L
Battery: 1s 500mAH
Price: $788.58 (Ä699)
Available at: Stream Team

The Concept X5 is a high end DLG (Discus Launch Glider) designed for F3K competitions. I have been flying the same two planes for around 5 years and they were getting old and worn out. I knew if I wanted to stay competitive I would need some new planes. I'd seen the CX5's flying and doing really well, then Mickey Nowell let me fly his a few times at the San Felasco event and I decided right there, I wanted a couple of them. I got a Standard wing and a wing for windy conditions that is about 11g heavier. I'll cover the basics of the build below along with my impressions of the planes. I hope you enjoy it.

Video

What's in the Box

The kit itself includes the wing, tails, fuselage and hardware. I also chose to order the protective bags and the 3D printed ballast/servo tray set for the fuselage. Here's a look at all the parts.

Other Items Used for the Review

Rollo recommended the KST X08H V5 servos so I contacted KST and they graciously provided the servos for this review. Thanks KST!

Assembly

Below will be a series of photos showing the build of one of the CX5's.

Flying