ChinModel Cessna 337/O-2 Skymaster.

Wingspan: 52 in
Overall Length: 39 in
Flying Weight: 1820 grams
Wing Load: 22 oz./sq ft)
Power: BL 2215/1050kv x2
30-amp ESCs
2x 3s 2200s

I've been eyeballing this kit for a couple of years now. It was pricey for the size of the model but at the same time the options for Skymasters are few and far between, and when you do find one it's usually a very large 80"+ ARF that costs $500 just for the airframe. So in the grand scheme of things the $250 I paid to have this shipped from Thailand doesn't seem so bad.

EBay had said that the model would take about a month to get to me. Instead, it took less than a week. The shipping was extremely fast. The model was exceptionally well packaged. The box was lined in foam and all the contents are bagged. The plans are folded instead of rolled but the way the kit is designed you aren't building over the plans anyway. They're just for reference. Cowls are fiberglass and are beautifully done. At one point the kit was sold with either white cowls or grey/black cowls depending on if you were building a civilian Skymaster or an O-2. That apparently isn't an option anymore and the cowls shipped were white. I'll be painting them since I plan to build it as an O-2.

All of the hardware is included. All nuts/bolts/washers, hinges, wheels, steerable nose gear, all pushrods and flexi-rods are included.

My plan is to power it with a pair of Turnigy 1050kv Park 450s and, with today's batteries I'm thinking a single 3s 2200 might be enough, though a pair of the lightweight Zippy Compacts might work too. Kit called for 9" props, with a 1050kv 450 that should be about right.

This is the scheme I'm planning to go with. Already shot an email to Callie.

Will get started very soon!
Last edited by Rampage; Sep 18, 2019 at 05:15 PM.
to remove ads between posts
May 27, 2019, 11:27 PM
DFS#000178
Thread OP
Fuselage sides done. Quick and easy.

May 28, 2019, 01:21 AM
DFS#000178
Thread OP