May 27, 2019, 02:57 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Exxon - A 3m SynerJ based sailplane

Hey all,
My name is Joseph, and I am currently studying year 12 Systems Engineering in Australia. (year before graduation)
As I am doing this subject, I have to create a project which includes both mechanical and electronic aspects. It is very open ended. I also have to complete a folio, the link to which I will be sharing on here for people to read over.

For my project, I decided to make a sailplane which is based off the SynerJ wing which is in one of the forums online here.
I am currently 16 years old, and have been flying R/C planes with my Dad for the last 4 or so years.
I learnt on a Radian-based plane which had a homemade fuselage. (called Scrappy. I'm sure you can find the build log on here somewhere)
This project is one that I was unfamiliar with, as I have never really made a plane from scratch. So if you're explaining something to me, please be patient if I do not understand some of the complexities of the hobby. (such as reynolds number. Can someone please explain what they are??)

As stated above, Exxon (my plane) will be made with a SynerJ wing, which will be 3m long. The wing cores will be CNC cut out of blue foam, then covered with fiberglass and a carbon strip down the middle, much like the Geronimo glider. They will be vacuum sealed using a food sealer and a homemade vacuum pump. Each wing has ailerons as well as a flap in the centre section. Against the advice of a lot of people on this forum, Exxon will have a flat centre section. This is mainly because I have limited skills in creating these kind of planes. It is also because it will make the mounting system on my fuselage a hell of a lot easier, which will save me a lot of time.