May 24, 2019, 01:38 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

YS160 fuel ;-(

After much searching i finally found a plane i wanted on the classifieds. its a Seabart Funtana. Pretty much comes ready to go except for reciever.

its fitted with a YS160 engine.

I have no experience with ys engines but a few club members have them and thought great, they use prosynth i use that in my helis... but then a very knowledgable member insisted that i should run the recomended fuel to get the best out of the engine and not damage it.. I did mention about changing it to petrol but the advice was keep the ys, its a powerhouse and on petrol it wont fly the same (heavier engine).

So now im in a dilema. I found 1 place that sold the 20/20 fuel and it was stupidly expensive.. 42 plus postage.... anothe rplace sells the boron ys fuel, 27 but out of stock..

can you run these engines on other fuels, and on lower nitro? I thought i would be able to use prosynth 2000 15% but im questioning the oil content.

The other option is optifuel slv 20% which ive used in my 600 nitro heli . 18% oil...

after i found out the cost of fuel my thinking was to sell the ys160 and get a 26cc petrol.

I'll likely run a gallon of fuel through it first and see what its like, but cost is a majour issue and one of the reasons why i stopped flying my 600 was the how much fuel it would go through.
to remove ads between posts
May 24, 2019, 01:43 PM
Stay with 20 or above. They run great on 20/20 and I use to run them on heli 30 percent.
May 24, 2019, 07:04 PM
[QUOTE=I have no experience with ys engines but a few club members have them and thought great, they use prosynth i use that in my helis... but then a very knowledgable member insisted that i should run the recomended fuel to get the best out of the engine and not damage it.. I did mention about changing it to petrol but the advice was keep the ys, its a powerhouse and on petrol it wont fly the same (heavier engine)..[/QUOTE]

Let's check some facts: