May 23, 2019, 04:27 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

painting foamies with an airbrush

in order to avoid issues with spray can propellants and the inefficiency of spray cans, etc, I thought I might use canned paint and deliver it via airbrush. Problem is I've never done that before. For example, what's an easy way to switch between colors? I've seen t-shirt shops do this quickly and easily but I didn't pay close enough attention to HOW they did that (and it's been a LONG time since I've been in a t-shirt shop).

Perhaps the most important question: apart from startup cost, am I overlooking some obvious reason why I would NOT want to airbrush instead of spray from can?
to remove ads between posts
May 23, 2019, 04:37 PM
Space Coast USA
I've used Apple Barrel latex paints thinned with water. They are available at Walmart for one.

Switching colors requires cleaning the gun with water between colors.
May 23, 2019, 05:07 PM
Be forewarned that not all Apple Barrel paints have the same pigment 'grind'. Some thin (Windex is good for this) and spay well, but others don't.

I have found that samples from Lowes, etc., are consistent and spray well (thinned about 1:1 with clear Windex). They are thicker and do take longer to dry.

CD
May 23, 2019, 07:08 PM
Start out with a cheapie Harbor Freight airbrush. $20, less 20%. Or you can get a compressor, hose and airbrush for $88, less 20%. Buys some extra bottles, shop around for the best price. Use Walmart Apple Barrel paints mixed with 50% Windex.

Changing colors is easy, take the bottle off, submerse the airbrush underwater and spray away. Take it out of the water, spray to get the water out of it, put on the next color bottle and spray away.

Clean up is easy, dump out the leftover paint, put the bottles and lids under water and use the airbrush pressure to clean them.

If you think you really want to get into some serious airbrushing later, then but a good airbrush.

https://www.harborfreight.com/deluxe...kit-95810.html