May 23, 2019, 02:25 PM
AMA 8711, FCC K4WZA
Thread OP
Discussion

Why does an engine backfire and throw off its prop in flight?

Just recently my OS FS-48 Surpass threw off its prop twice while flying. Why?

I bought it used back in 2012 and have put about 200 flights on it since then. It's mounted inverted on a 72" span Fairchild PT-19 based Chuck Hollinger's design, drives a 12x6 MA prop, and drinks 12% Coolpower with Klotz added to bring oil to 20%, with an OS type F plug. Compression, bearings and valve lash are fine.

I've been flying RC since 1955 and I don't remember seeing any other engines throw props while in flight. I have seen many throw props when starting, and I've assumed the engines were over-primed.

It's possible my engine was a running a bit rich. I didn't check the needle valve before the flight and the change of seasons (colder to warmer here in the NW corner of S. Carolina) would call for slightly less fuel. Unfortunately, I can't easily check it by flying now since the backfire tossed off half the 2-piece fiberglass cowl, formerly attached with magnets, and it'll be awhile til I lay up another.

So what do you think - was it just that it was an over-rich mixture in an inverted engine, or are there other possible causes?

-Dave
to remove ads between posts
May 23, 2019, 02:27 PM
You set the needle too lean.
May 23, 2019, 03:33 PM
Pro Hoarder
Too lean or over heating is common cause..Not tight on the prop nuts..Must be tighter than you would expect..Wrong glow plug is possible..
Latest blog entry: In flight
May 23, 2019, 03:42 PM
AMA 8711, FCC K4WZA
Thread OP
Thanks for that, guys. Makes sense when you think of it as preignition. It just contradicts my long-held assumption of overpriming. Time to change my assumption.

-Dave
May 23, 2019, 03:45 PM
GloBroz PowerLab
Too lean. The backfire comes from the advanced ignition due to the lean mixture and the backfire causes the prop nut to come loose and the prop departing the plane prematurely.