May 22, 2019, 09:48 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

AliExpress- too good to be true!!!!

Was looking for some USB/LED modules for some Naza FC's and they seem to have become pretty rare things recently. Web search brought up AliExpress as having the 'barebones' units as fitted to Phantom drones at a decent price.
I have never used AE before because they didn't accept Paypal but it seems they now do so decided to give them a try. Had a quick look on the site at RC stuff (as you do) and found a real bargain of 4pcs of Racerstar 20amp ESC's for a silly price of 4.86. I had recently missed a similar deal on Banggood so was delighted when an order for two sets went through OK.

Well you can guess what happened. I received the package with TWO esc's. Went back to the AE page and sure enough the ad was definitely for four ESC's and even showed a picture of four ESC's. My Paypal notification even stated the quantity was four pieces.
Further down the listing there was 'Color- 1pcs' which I hadn't even noticed (I really wasn't worried about the color!)

Mailed the seller 'Air Toy' and received a polite chinglish response to the effect that I got what I ordered.

Well I guess it was too good to be true and I should have known it but still annoying that the ad was so blatantly offering a set of four pcs. Don't imagine there's much point in trying to take it any further for a few pounds.

Shame of it is that the USB/LED units and two UBEC's I ordered also arrived very quickly and were exactly what I needed (from 'RC Hobby Warehouse' and 'Toy Bar store' respectively).

I suppose the moral of this is to really look hard when ordering from Chinese companies especially small ones and if you can, mail them and check if that 'bargain' really is a bargain.
to remove ads between posts
May 23, 2019, 03:56 AM
most exalted one