May 19, 2019, 08:49 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Saito 56

Hello and thanks in advance for any help.
Bought a used Saito 56. Put it in a test stand and primed with finger over carb throat. Primes right away and fires but just seems to run out of fuel, right away. And dies.
I donít see air in fuel line when this happens.
Donít think it is tank setup because it works for other engines. Tank is a little lower than carb however.
I am total newbie to 4 stroke engine.
Probably operator error,

Thanks again for any help.
to remove ads between posts
May 20, 2019, 02:16 AM
I’m sure others with more experience will chime in, but since you didn’t mention it in your post are you providing exhaust pressure to the fuel tank? If so, perhaps you should reset the carb needles to the factory specs which can be found in the Saito manual.
If the glow plug is the one that came with the used engine, try changing to a new plug. Just some ideas
May 20, 2019, 04:55 AM
The saito 56 is one of the best handling 4 strokes in my opinion, I have 3 of them.

Sounds like the main needle needs to be wound out a bit, try 3 turns out to start with, should be slobbery rich at that, gradually turn it in to achieve a good top end.
May 20, 2019, 06:11 AM
I would also suggest you make sure the low side needle is open enough. That to is in the manual. Since you are new to 4 strokes, I would suggest that you set the top end with a tach, as they have a different sound than a 2 stroke. They run very well with a APC 12/6. As said before, they are a sweet engine. Would also suggest you check the valves settings since it is a used engine. Again see the manual or get a friend who is running 4 strokes to help you.

L.
May 20, 2019, 08:54 AM
Thread OP
Thanks for replies.
Low speed needle did seem turned in to far. I think I checked valves when I got motor, but will check again.
Not sure when I can retest as it is raining and I need to get to work on a busy week.

Thanks again. I’ll let you know if I get it going