Sep 07, 2001, 02:12 PM

Small Dare Fokker D-VIII Kit Question?

I have developed an uncontrollable lust for the Fokker D-VIII, and have been looking at various kits at internet sites and at the LHS. I'll probably end up building more than one D-VIII kit once I get started. The one that I thought of starting with is the small Dare version (~20-inch wingspan), and then move on to a larger one later. All of my R/C craft to date have been foam-based ARFs, so I have no experience working with balsa kits. I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with the small Dare D-VIII, and if this would be considered an appropriate "beginner" balsa kit? I plan to build it very slowly over the winter months, learning as I go, and try to fly it next spring.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 07, 2001, 04:22 PM
If the small kits are anything like the Dare Speed 400 models designed by Pat Trittle, they are definately meant for experienced builders. The instructions are not all that detailed. Since you admit you have no experience with balsa construction, you may want to stay away from this model until you get a few under your belt. Unfortunately, I can't think of any easy to build models of the Fokker DIII.
Sep 07, 2001, 04:24 PM
Designing on the edge
Dave:
I have quite a few Dare kits and they are all nice kits but they all have one thing in common, poor instructions. You are required to study the plans very very carefully. Even then it is advisable to have built other kits so you have a basis of skills.

Many of the Guillows kits are good too. They are die cut and parts may not fit very well but the plans and instructions are good. I build these just for fun and have converted the SE5a to electric. I built 7 or so of these to get my skills sharpened up for my Dare Fokker DVII.

Dumas kits are good also but they tend to be a little more advanced in skills required.