Apr 28, 2019, 11:40 PM
FROM THE MIND OF A MADMAN
Thread OP
Discussion

Us1m rule changes-what say you ?

Here is former US1M secretarys, Jim Linvilles opinion on the upcoming elections for rule changes.
Copied from the US1M Yahoo GROUP. Kind of long, but worth the read.

I have been a US1M builder and skipper for at least 25 years, 17 of which I served as your US1M Class Secretary. I feel I understand US1M’s better than most because I knew and had frequent conversations with Bob Debow, the AMYA member who started the class. As Class Secretary I was able to watch the class grow and change for the better over the years.

Based on my experience I have to wade in with my opinions on the 10 US1M Rule Changes we are being asked to vote on.

I doubt that what follows will make either proponent happy, but here goes.

Motions 1 and 2: Regardless of the limiting terminology others may try to impose, the US1M is a developmental class and by design has always been. Its basic premise has always been to encourage development while imposing only a few limitations with regards to sail area, hull length, keel depth and number of servos. Everything else was developmentally fair-game, including electronics. There was never the intention, nor the need to limit electronic develop because the success in racing a given hull was always in control of the skipper.

Motion 1 muddies up the primary intent of the class by redefining it as a “restricted developmental sailboat class”. This motion essentially eliminates the initial premise of the class that “anything” not prohibited is allowed.
Motion 2 goes a bit too far by inserting RRS and ERS. The Class has survived quite well for a long time without either being specified in the class rules.
My recommendation is to vote NO on both Motions.

Motion 3: A simple yes or no vote. Majority rules. That the way it’s supposed to be.