Mar 13, 2019, 01:15 PM
Drew RT
Thread OP
Help!

low kV alt (0.13) 3D printed axial flux PMA/M, using poured structure

Hello RCgroups

I'm looking for some advice on a couple of subjects. I'm not an engineer, nor do I have any real technical training, which means I don't always understand some of the terminology used by experts. I may not have understood kV properly, but I'm aiming for a system that produces 12V at 100rpm, and right now I'm at around 5V at 200.

First thing I'd love to hear some comments on is my alternator design in general, and what effect going from an 8 pole to 16 pole (halving magnet size, so keeping magnet volume the same), might do.

Second thing, I'm wondering about using the brake (regenerative) feature on an RC ESC as my load controller on a mini wind turbine project. What I need to do this is to be able to increase the load, non-linear with the speed. As wind speed doubles, wind energy available cubes, while turbine speed only doubles.

This is usually accomplished with a programmed data table, at rpm "A" set load to 1%, at "B" set load to 8% at rpm ''C" set load to 64%.

What I'm thinking is that by using an arduino I could measure rpm and generate a signal for the controller to adjust the brake load? Perhaps it could all even be done inside the controller. I've been looking at the Castle Creations controllers and it seems like they might be a good fit.

A video of it blowing an LED (post rectifier) after being spun by hand is here
3D printer axial flux alternator with poured in place structure (0 min 16 sec)
to remove ads between posts
Mar 14, 2019, 11:38 AM
Drew RT
Thread OP

combined Volt Amp data against resistive loads