Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Mar 12, 2019, 09:07 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Looking for suggestions for a good basic kit for a 9 year old

I was wondering if people could offer suggestions for a good rubber power (or maybe even glider) free flight kit for my 9yr old neice, who's not of the engineering mindset, but she likes outdoor activities.

First, I bought her one of those cheapie Guillow's SkyStreaks. We're lucky if we can get the thing to fly more than 10ft. She gets excited if it goes 10ft, but she doesn't know what rubber powered planes can really do! I'm pretty new at this myself and despite the simplicity of these models, I feel that they require significant modifications by a knowledgeable builder/flyer before they can be made to work well.

On the other extreme, I have recently a Sig Cub and The Ritz by Easy Built Models. While these are much better flyers, now we're talking about serious kit building. Sure I could just give her one of the planes I built already so that she can fly it, but these things are too delicate for her. Pick them up / fly them incorrectly and syonara. The same could be said of the Guillow's kit, but those things are less than 5 bucks and take less than 5 minutes to put together, so it's no big deal if and when she breaks them (she already has at least once).