Mar 09, 2019, 02:17 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
Thread OP
Discussion

Started a replacement Lancaster

This could be a long term project.

After the demise of my previous Lanc last year, ( attack of the killer hedge ), the salvaged parts, everything except the body, wings, tail, kept staring at me, pleading me to make them a new home.

I started drawing up an A20 Boston/Havoc, then realised it looked too much like my B-25 but with only one fin, and only two of the motors. To use up those four motor it just had to be another Lanc. Well they do look ....... special.

So, another scratch build, and genuinely starting from scratch as there were no usable drawings of my original, but then that's the fun of making it up as I go along. Though I may later regret using the word 'fun'.

I don't do detailed build threads, just a few pictures occasionally, the rest of the 'design' is still in my head.

So here she is so far --

Ray.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 09, 2019, 03:06 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
Thread OP

The continuing problem of being a cheapskate, and not wanting to buy more stuff.

At the start of the build I realised I had run out of 1/4" balsa sheet, I normally use it for full depth wing spars.

Then to add to the problem, my usual 1/2" balsa sheet for the leading edge was short. But I did have plenty of 1/8" balsa sheet.

So, thinking out of the box, (box of balsa ), I decided to try multiple 1/8" spars, and no leading edge, just wrap the Drepron sheet right round.

Why not ?

Here's another picture showing how the multi-spar arrangement will eventually work. Going to be a lot of 1/8" sheet striped down into 1/4" and 3/8" wide strips. This is just a try out, no glue yet, but I feel it will make a strong and light wing.

Ray.
Mar 11, 2019, 04:38 AM
Nice going Ray. I'm about to venture into the world of large depron models so I'll be watching your progress. regards
Mar 11, 2019, 07:48 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
Thread OP