This thread is privately moderated by RexGalore, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Feb 02, 2019, 04:47 PM
Out Standing In The Field
Thread OP
Discussion

Hanging Storage Hanger Hangar

I've been running out of room in my garage to store my planes. This is nothing new, I've been running out of room for my planes since 1985.
But it was (is) getting out of hand, with most flat and semi-flat areas hosting planes, some still in the way, at risk of falling or being knocked to the floor.

I had put up a wall mounted nose-in rack, using 1/2" PVC pipe screwed into a plywood sheet with sheetrock screws through end cap pieces. At first, I'd used "T" pieces with the backs cut off, but that was more expensive and required cutting with a table saw (which I don't have). This storage method works well, as I have a tall wall in my garage, however, reaching the uppermost planes can be difficult, requiring a ladder to get to them. Also, wall space in a garage is a precious commodity, so when I saw the Z-Rack-N-Stack-Hanger and then read Brett_N's post about the pull-down pulleys, I knew it was something I had to try.
Last edited by RexGalore; Feb 13, 2019 at 04:27 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 02, 2019, 04:48 PM
Thread OP

Version 1 Construction

So, I had studies the Z-Rack, and all the dimensions that the pieces come in.

First of all, that Z-Rack is about 100 times classier than any PVC pipe piece could ever hope to be. But, I think that it is somewhat limited by the available arm sizes. I "sorta kinda" used the 7" and 10" drops between the planes, and for my smaller foamies, it's too much, and results in a "longer" overall rack dimension than necessary, at least for this batch of planes. I should mention that the batch includes my "go to" planes that I often load in the truck:
GP Super Sportster RxR
ArtiZan
Tower Hellcat
and oddly enough my 1400mm Volantex Decathlon, just to see how a bigger, heavier plane might work out.