This thread is privately moderated by Micubano, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jan 23, 2019, 12:09 PM
Too many? No such thing.
Thread OP
Discussion

Year 8 - Step 3 - Balsa ARF

I owned two Precision Aerobatics (PA) planes years ago before I joined a club. A Mini Kitana and an Addiction. I didn't build them and the only reason I had them is the LHS gave me a great deal on both of them because one of the employees damaged them a little while "testing" them. They were supposed to hang on my wall until I was ready for balsa and balsa repairs. About a year later I was tired of flying mostly alone and joined a local flying club. One afternoon a guy I'm friends with started going on about his two PA planes he sold and missed. Long story short, he got his planes back and I got wall space back. He was very grateful. It was worth it.

I've been flying for almost 8 years now. I didn't fly the PAs, but I do have an old balsa E-Flite Cessna 150 Acrobat 250 I picked up 2 years ago and take out from time to time. It has survived so far and I am happy with it. The rest of my collection has been foam and almost entirely Horizon. There is a balsa Slick 3D sitting in its box in my basement for two years too, but I didn't put in the time to learn about balsa assembly and repair. I didn't feel ready. Plus, why balsa when we have all this wonderful foam stuff that is easily repaired. That started changing after having a few beers in the FoamTac tent at NEAT after not winning the plane I wanted at the Hobby King tent auction. I was passing the Flex Innovations (FI) tent on the way back to my club's spot on the flight line and decided to stop. I had money. They had a Mamba 10. We traded. A few days later on the maiden flight, I found exactly what I wanted to fly. It only took me trying well over 100 models. The E-Flite Ultimate2 was close. It just needed to be lighter. I picked up the FI Extra 300 and Cap 232 shortly after the Mamba 10. The Cap 232 was part of a huge trade that