Jan 14, 2019, 08:25 PM
Mopar Musclecar fanatic
Thread OP
Build Log

2006 Damon Astoria Motorhome Scratchbuild

Got lots of rc projects in flight but I just need to get this different kind of project started. This Will be a 1:12 scale 2006 Damon Astoria motor home. I'm getting closer to finishing my Malibu wakesurf boat and will knock a trailer out for it. I have a Clodbuster that I was going to pull it but after some thinking what would be cooler than a model of the motorhome my wife and stumbled onto last summer. Right now I'm planning on a 4 channel radio with 2 of the channels to operate the 2 slide outs. Model will have a complete interior with all interior/exterior lights working. Probably will put a sound module in for diesel engine and air horn sound. I'm a slow builder so this will take awhile, but I received my 6 tires in the mail today and have to start drawing things out for this. As always, comments and suggestions always welcome and I'll share the success and failures as I work through this.

Bob
to remove ads between posts
Feb 10, 2019, 09:56 PM
Mopar Musclecar fanatic
Thread OP

Getting things started

Since the only plans I have are the ones I draw out, most of my time early on a project is a bunch of measuring and burning through pencil lead and erasers. Front suspension parts as well as front rims came in the mail with rear rims and differential on backorder for now. I'm still debating on whether to make the frame out of square aluminum tube or plastic....pros and cons for each but leaning towards aluminum for its ridgity. I worked all weekend on drawing and cutting out the 2 major side pieces. Looks good and it is big. Will keep plugging away as I can. Pics below.

Bob
Feb 12, 2019, 11:04 AM
Whare in the world did you get wheels and parts for the motorhome.. I m interested in doing the same thing, only copying a Newell moter coach..
Feb 12, 2019, 11:57 AM
Mopar Musclecar fanatic
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Wood Boats