This thread is privately moderated by PittSpecial, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Dec 17, 2018, 01:59 AM
Right Rudder
Thread OP
Discussion

My younger years..............................39 years ago!

Some of you may not know this of me but, I decided to share it with you and some of my close friends and family members that visit my Blog......

Okay, back in Miami, Florida during 1979, I bought (by mistake) a used 1973 super bug (Semi-Automatic).

Needless to say this Super Bug was fast as there was no Clutch in the traditional manner. All shifting was done by Vacuum assist with the Shift Stick and Three forward Speeds plus one reverse.

I was a struggling Student attending College and had to work UPS facility at Miami near the International Airport (That Facility still exists) and had to work the grave yard shifts. Needless to say I had a couple of Drunks rear-end me and that's where theses Large Vacuum Tanks were located, at the underside of the rear fenders! Without them you could not shift, period.

One Drunk Driver rear-ended me and I went after him in 2nd Gear at 50-MPH and he almost eluded me but, I found him by his Brake Lights. I was crossing North West 22nd Avenue Bridge (Over Miami River) and as I saw him with the excitement, I made the mistake of turning too soon to continue and give chase and went off the bottom end of the bridge and the car went AIR borne 5 feet off the ground and landed going 40-MPH, the VW Super Bug continued and I was able to catch the SON of BEECH! He was SOOOO DRUNK that I had to reach in and Turn OFF his car and get the Car Keys from him. We both Struggled in the dead of the night and perhaps woke up the entire block.

Police came like a Miami Vice episode because the Drunk had several bags of Cocaine plus two Machine Guns in his trunk. The Lord was with me that night as this guy was sooo plastered that he could not even stand UP when he got arrested.