Nov 26, 2018, 03:44 AM
Rev Otis Elevator
Thread OP
Build Log

Takahe 110 RES

Greetings from sunny New Zealand.
This is my first build log. After 15 years of Sailplane flying a friend introduced me to RC gliders last year, i was quickly hooked and after learning to fly a few foamies decided i would like to have a go at a larger balsa build.
The Olympic 2 from Sky Bench caught my eye but after emailing Peter @Hanger One here in NZ i purchased their Takahe kit.
A similar sailplane in most respects. My building skills in RC are limited to say the least having not handled balsa for 30years but the information available through these forums and a couple of friends i can call upon if things get too much gives me confidence to start building.
A special mention to Steve, aka jimmy arcane, who has a Takahe build log on the Balsa Builders forum. This was really the only reference i could find to the Takahe so i have spent many hours looking at this and other build logs to get me started.
As there were so few references available i have submitted this build log to hopefully add to the pool of knowledge for this lovley looking Glider.

Cheers Phil
to remove ads between posts
Nov 28, 2018, 03:43 AM
Rev Otis Elevator
Thread OP

More building stuff

The rest of the build is pretty straight forward and if i had somthing i wanted to check i went to jimmy-arcanes Tahake build log in the balsa builders forum to double check what i was doing.
Many years ago when i first got into Yank and Bank rc glow sports planes my building was rough as i just wanted to get it flying as quickly as i could. (Usually followed by crash and repair, repeat etc) . I even tried the teach yourself to fly route. Man that was an expensive road to nowhere!
Anyhoo, the point is i have pretty limited building skills but with the help of the interweb and an extra 30 years under my belt in pretty happy with the way the Takahe is comming along.