Nov 05, 2018, 09:18 AM
I'm a pilot, 100 yrs too late
Question

Scratchbuilt

My understanding was 'Scratch Building" is the process of drawing up plans and cutting your wood manually.
Is this still the case?
I see the current issue of MA discusses two scratch-built aircraft. I believe the plans were designed but the wood is from Manzano Laser Works. Is this shortcut a standard now or just how this article was done...
to remove ads between posts
Nov 05, 2018, 09:25 AM
This is a religious question.

True believers will tell you that

"Scratch-built" means you make your own plans then do everything. (There is some valid disagreement with whether a scale model can be truly "scratch" since you are using somebody else's planform).
"Plans-built" means you use somebody else's plans but your own wood.
"Short kit" means somebody cut the parts for you, but you supply the sticks and sheeting.
"Kit" means the sticks and sheeting come in the box and usually things like bend wire LG.

The infidels in one of the other religions think that "scratch" can be anything up to "Kit" while another set of infidels thinks that any time you use glue, it's "scratch."

Andy
Nov 05, 2018, 10:20 AM
Owner of CFC Graphics
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
This is a religious question.

True believers will tell you that

"Scratch-built" means you make your own plans then do everything. (There is some valid disagreement with whether a scale model can be truly "scratch" since you are using somebody else's planform).
"Plans-built" means you use somebody else's plans but your own wood.
"Short kit" means somebody cut the parts for you, but you supply the sticks and sheeting.
"Kit" means the sticks and sheeting come in the box and usually things like bend wire LG.

The infidels in one of the other religions think that "scratch" can be anything up to "Kit" while another set of infidels thinks that any time you use glue, it's "scratch."

Andy