Oct 23, 2018, 11:53 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Silk and dope wrinkles

Hello all, this is my first time attempting a silk and dope covering job. I started covering the stabilizer of my recent build, I got up to the part where the silk is tacked down around the frame on both sides. After the silk had dried, it was pretty tight on both sides with out any wrinkles. I wait maybe half an hour and I go to apply the fill weave coats. I brush on one coat on one side and let it dry and I notice wrinkles begin to form. I do the other side and one more coat on each side. There are wrinkles going cordwise down the bays of the stabilizer. Does anyone have tips on doing the fill coats, to reduce the wrinkles? Thank you.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 23, 2018, 12:36 PM
I'd wait, your dope may not be dry enough yet. I am assuming that you use water to shrink the silk first before doping.
Oct 23, 2018, 12:47 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by rchopper56 View Post
I'd wait, your dope may not be dry enough yet. I am assuming that you use water to shrink the silk first before doping.
Yes, the silk is wet and I apply the dope on the frame while the silk is still wet.
Oct 23, 2018, 06:47 PM
Did you use†butyrate or nitrate dope? I have always used butyrate because of it's shrinking qualities. I had a silked wing that wrinkled beyond my expiations so I put it in storage. Came back to it around 4 weeks later and the wrinkles were gone.

Gene
Oct 23, 2018, 07:42 PM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by rchopper56 View Post
Did you use†butyrate or nitrate dope? I have always used butyrate because of it's shrinking qualities. I had a silked wing that wrinkled beyond my expiations so I put it in storage. Came back to it around 4 weeks later and the wrinkles were gone.

Gene
I used both nitrate for the initial application of the silk and the fill coats. Will get some butyrate and try that on the fill coats. Thanks.
Oct 23, 2018, 08:58 PM