Sep 28, 2018, 06:44 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

What's a Good, Free Video Editing Program?

I have a new laptop, so no longer have Windows Movie Maker. I have been searching for and downloading new programs, and so far I hate all of them. They are not intuitive at all.

I just want something FREE and simple. Just want to be able to easily clip videos, add in photos, music, titles, etc... Googling has led me to Shotcut, VSDC, Lightworks, etc.. I downloaded and tried a couple of them, but couldn't even figure out how to clip a video.. Maybe I'm just too dumb for the new programs, but then I wonder if they just make these things intentionally more difficult, to get you to buy the "pro" versions or whatever...

Anyway, what's the least painful way to be able to continue editing videos as I was previously with Windows Movie Maker? Thanks..
to remove ads between posts
Sep 28, 2018, 10:58 AM
I've got no experience with Movie Maker, so I don't know how it works, but the program I use is kdenlive.

It's a fairly capable editor, but it maintains a classic editing format, so it was very easy for me to pick up.

It can do all the things you want it to, and I would say fairly easily. The only thing that could be considered difficult is the way it handles titles, but this is well documented, so you can find tutorials of how to do it.
Sep 28, 2018, 11:06 AM
Thread OP
I have VSDC downloaded now. It is the third I have tried, and so far seems marginally less totally horrible than the others. Though I still cannot trim a video. Why on earth they make these things so unintuitive is beyond me. I have already wasted 20 minutes on tedious tutorials and not found an easy way to do it.

Seems crazy to me that there used to be WMM, which even I could figure out - and trim and cut out bits and do slow-mo and add pics and music and titles etc.. Now I need a bloody tutorial just to clip 30 seconds off the beginning of the raw footage...
Sep 28, 2018, 12:52 PM