"Watts Up" meter - tested - RC Groups
Dec 24, 2004, 02:10 PM

"Watts Up" meter - tested

Keith from RC Electronics, Inc. posted a message about their new “Watt’s Up” watt meter and power analyzer in one of the Ezone forums. He introduced his new product to the forum and later in his post asked for potential testers. I responded that I would be interested in comparing his new meter to my trusty AstoFlight Whattmeter. I have been using a Wattmeter since I first began my electric RC fascination in early 1999. The Whattmeter has been an invaluable source of information on my power systems. Now there are many other meters on the market, this test compares one of the other options.

I must state that I am also an Ezone author. This product test in an informal evaluation of the “Watt's Up” meter. There is a formal review of the “Watt’s Up” posted on the front page of Ezone. If you are looking for the full specifics of the meter please check there or on RC Electronics, Inc. website. www.rc-cars-planes.com. Some quick specs include: Measures energy (Wh), charge (Ah), power(w), current (a) and voltage (v) - also measures current peak and voltage drop. It can also measure down to 0 volts with the use of an optional external battery.

The first thing that caught my eyes when I opened the box, besides the blue color, was the small size of the meter. The meter comes without connectors, so I attached a set of Deans ultra connectors. Inside the box with the manual was a small instruction sheet outlining the key features of the meter.