Aug 30, 2018, 02:11 PM
BTW, IIRC YMMV, IMHO

Hi all,

I just got my membership letter today and hope to head out to the field next week but want to find out if someone is going to be around that could show me the ropes, so to speak, with regard to field etiquette and such. I have read the club rules but I've never been to an airfield so I don't want to make a bad first impression. I work from home so am pretty flexible time-wise and live 25 minutes away in SW Portland.

Just to give you an idea of where I'm at in the hobby: I'm new to RC airplanes, though I dabbled with micro-helis 10 years ago. I've built two foam-board planes (Flite Test Mini Scout and Mini Trainer) and have been able to fly the Scout (24" w-span ) at local parks but it's awkward with dogs and kids about and my lack of skill. The trainer is larger (38" w-span) and needs more space to fly (hence my reason for joining Fly-A-Ways). So I'm not a complete newbie but very inexperienced.

Any help or advice appreciated.

Regards,
Tom.
to remove ads between posts
Aug 30, 2018, 02:27 PM
Hey Tom, Welcome to Fly-a-Ways!

You sound like me 2 years ago. Did a little FT building and flying in my local parks. The field and crew at Fly-a-Ways really helped me gain confidence and skills in a hurry. You will find some of the experienced folks at the field during the week between 10am and 2pm.

If you check the field cam (https://webcam.io/webcams/9Rmp1M) , you will see the windsock and can usually tell if anyone is flying. If the gate is open (horizontal white line at top right of cam) that usually means that someone is at the field.

You definitely want (and I believe are required) to have a club ambassador give you a orientation briefing. Takes about 10 mins and covers fields rules and etiquette. Feel free to introduce yourself to anyone at the field. We're all friendly and welcoming.

Welcome to the Club - we are glad to have you join us!
Aug 31, 2018, 12:25 AM

Hi Tom, Welcome!