Aug 20, 2018, 02:15 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

How to design a 3 piece wing?

I an thinking about building a large twin engine plane. Plans show one piece wind, to big to transport. I want to make a 3 piece wing with main center section with both engine and main landing gear on it, and two plug in outer wing panels. This is something that I have never tried before.
Can anyone tell me where I can find drawings of how to do a 3 piece wing or a video how to? Maybe a build along that has this kind of construction. I NEED HELP here. Thanks for your time and any replies.
to remove ads between posts
Aug 20, 2018, 03:10 PM
'Douglas' to his friends.
Ken...

Not much, but maybe enough to get you thinking while waiting for others. Here's a Build Log of my Electra sailplane, where I describe its conversion to a plug-in three-piece wing. Hope this helps...

Electra Build Log...
Last edited by Dad3353; Aug 20, 2018 at 08:24 PM.
Aug 20, 2018, 03:46 PM
Scott
Seems to me it should be pretty simple. Plug in wings are pretty much standard in large planes now. Just make 2 plug in wings that go into the center. A wing tube on each side, a couple of anti rotation pins. You will probably end up with a hatch on each side in the center portion to access the servo wires and wing attachment screws.

Scott
Aug 20, 2018, 04:35 PM
Leroy G.
A 3 piece wing for a twin engine low wing plane. I look at this as easy, outer wing panels can be made removable ,just outside of nacelles and mount on aluminum tubes.

Leroy
Aug 20, 2018, 04:56 PM
B for Bruce
The key to a good job is to build the main load bearing joiner boxes or slip tube into the main spar and tie it all together. That way the loads are transferred across the joint from the outer spars to the joiner and on to the inner spars directly. Don't rely on the ribs for much at all