Aug 18, 2018, 05:32 PM
New Product

MAIA from Braivo Composites

Hello everyone!

I was intrigued by this, not very well know DLG, so I've decided to buy it and test it. I have been flying DLGs since 2016 and I own two other, more mainstream DLGs of the latest generation, besides this one. I would describe myself as an intermediate level F3K enthusiast - my launches are around 50-55m and I have just started competing. I have not received this kit for free, and the following review is my honest and unbiased opinion.

img host

Maia is produced by Braivo Composites in Czech Republic.

First, let’s take a look at the specs:

Wingspan: 1498mm
Length: 1050mm
Wign Area: 20,9dm2
Airfoil: Synergy
Weight: 230(light) - 280(strong)
Design: Jano Belan

Larger wing area (>20dm2) was the main reason next to the airfoil why I have chosen this glider. Even though it has a relatively large AUW for the standard version 250-270 (mine came 270g since all of the weights of the components were on the top of the range) it has a very good wing loading of around 12 g/dm2.

Kit content:
Wing, horizontal stab, fuselage with pre-glued vertical stab and the bag of accessories..

screen shot software
Note that the ballast set doesn’t come with the standard kit but can be bought from Braivo Composites.

The only non-standard thing here is the fact that fuse and vertical stabs are pre/glued (in my opinion a big bonus, but more on that later)

Standard weights of the components:
Wing: 115-125g for the standard version
Fuselage with Stab: 50g
Horizontal Stab: horizontal stab: 6.5g
Peg: 2.5 g

Accessories

Content of the accessories bag: throwing T peg, servo frames, servo horns, stell wire for tail springs, 1,2mm wire for the top drive, servo covers, ballast tube (mine is 3d printed, Ivo has stated that the new kits will come with an improved composite tube) and string for pull-spring system.

Closer look of the T-peg