This thread is privately moderated by PeterVRC, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Aug 06, 2018, 05:47 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

3D printed plane - the "GASB2 Fanjet"

It was TIME to 3D print an RC Model aircraft......

I had been using 3D printers for many years and had seen bits and pieces (snippets) of how the world of 3D printing Aircraft was going. Nothing looked too great or promising in terms of producing a DECENT RC Model that would have everything doe well, and LAST. They were being designed and made 'too marginal', in their aims to save as much weight as possible. Let alone the 'entire modeling world' being so scared of WEIGHT and the ROBUSTNESS required to produce a truly "Fit for purpose" aircraft. The vast majority are 'marginal' and the weight phobia abounding everywhere means they fly like 'feathers' or 'bits of paper int he wind', not truly 'linear with mass and inertias as per full scale aircraft have and do.
So the WEIGHT of a 3D Printed aircraft was not worrying me, it was the actual construction details that would be needed to form a "Fit for purpose" aircraft, and THEN remain within a weight range restriction - even when that is WAY heavier than everyone else is doing in 3D printed aircraft.
In foam models, they are all way too light as they come.... well... in recent years the manufacturers ARE FINALLY putting more 'good stuff' into them, and not worrying about weight as much. Yet they are still not at a point of truly Fit For Purpose and robust etc. But you can buy a foam model (Kit or PNF) and ADD all that you need to make it fully Fit For Purpose (reliable, strong, lasting!), and still not end up too heavy to fly well and properly.

What range of weight headroom does/would a 3D printed model have?