Jul 17, 2018, 01:06 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

First Giant Scale Build, not just another Sig 1/4 scale Cub

Greetings All,

This is my first build log, and my first attempt at a giant scale build. Many firsts here
This past winter was a long one, so I set out to build a big enough project that would help time go by during the long, dark, cold winter months in the Interior of Alaska I didn't want to just do a kit, although hind sight teaches me it would have been less expensive and a heck of a lot easier. I am obsessed with Cubs and Bush planes. I see them fly almost everyday and my imagination goes wild. Anyway, I decided to build a Clipped Wing Cub based on Sig's 1/4 scale plans. So, I ordered the plans and a bunch of balsa. I have built some smaller aircraft from scratch, and one kit, so I figured "what the heck, let's give it a go"
After I received my plans and balsa, I dusted off my scroll saw, and got to work, planning, measuring, cutting and sanding

Here's some pics that inspired me for the build.
to remove ads between posts
Jul 17, 2018, 01:20 PM
Thread OP
I did not have any templates, or die cut parts. And that's just how I wanted to do it. I made my own templates by tracing the plans, and measuring/determining my dimensions by cross referencing the three views. The Fuse and Tail section was all scratch built and It was a great learning experience.
The elevator was modified to have counterbalances, just because I think it looks cool, and during my research I have found that many full scale J3's had been hot-roded for aerobatics over the years.
Jul 17, 2018, 01:47 PM
Thread OP