May 15, 2018, 07:58 PM
Camber down and screw it up.
Thread OP
Mini-Review

Aerobtec Altis Nano AMRT for ALES/F5J

I've been using the Aerobtec Altis V4+ for 2 years now, and it performs flawlessly. I had an issue of not being able to get the 'Emergency Motor Restart' function to work, but tech support at Aerobtec is very good, despite the 8 hour time difference between MDT and Slovakia. I was able to resolve my issue (Spektrum motor channel endpoints) within a few email exchanges.

I first heard about the Altis Nano AMRT earlier this spring, and inquired about when they would be available. Aerobtec was kind enough to send one of the first production models for testing and review.

The Altis Nano is noticeably smaller than the Altis V4+, but has exactly the same functionality, including the Micro USB port, and a small port into which you can plug either the telemetry converter, or for the optional keypad for configuration in the field without a computer. The same micro keypad and also the larger 'Device Terminal' that work with the V4+ work with the Nano.

The device has several different firmware versions available, including an ALES version, with 100, 150, or 200m launch height, a pure F5J 'plug and play' version (this is the version that was certified with the FAI for F5J use), and a 'generic' version, where every parameter is configurable, but has several presets for ALES or F5J. I have tested the ALES version in a club contest in April, and the 'generic' version (set for F5J with emergency motor restart enabled) in the F5J in the Desert 2 day contest last week. I have not tested the 'pure' F5J version of the firmware.

Early testing revealed a bug with the generic firmware where the emergency motor restart did not work. An email and log file sent to Aerobtec, and 24 hours later, they had fixed the bug and made the new version available, which works perfectly.