May 15, 2018, 04:15 PM
Thread OP
Rant

Newbie and really frustrated!!!

So I decided to join the ranks of r/c flying as it was something I wanted to do for a while. I followed the rules, joined a club and contacted a trainer who by the way is the best trainer and even better person in the world. He doesn't even charge for the time he puts into teaching multiple students how to fly. So everything ok up to there.... however, here is my rant: There is nowhere to fly these things, they don't allow flying anywhere... only in the club's airfield, which takes me about 45 minutes each way to get to... oh, an I can't practice anywhere so it's been 3 months and I have only been able to fly once....ONCE! And since I am a newbie, no way I can go the airfield and try to fly there... are you kidding me... I would probable be chewed by the GOM (Grumpy Old Men) that dominate this hobby!!! I now understand why the elevated ratio of GOM in the hobby. I guess you have to be retired to have the time to go to the airfield on a weekday, early in the morning to practice and learn. Going there in the weekends (for those of us who work) is impossible with so many people (yes more GOM) flying, there is absolutely no way a real newbie can get some flying time.

Rant over.
to remove ads between posts
May 15, 2018, 11:05 PM
Forbegos,

Sorry you're having trouble. Slow, down and take a deep breath. You really are ranting. You say there is nowhere to fly "these things." "They" might not allow flying just anywhere because it isn't safe. (Or it could be that California has come to Colorado.) We don't know what you're flying. It could be a 20 ounce electric foamy or a 15 pound gasser. That makes a difference as to what makes a safe area.