Apr 20, 2018, 06:02 PM
G.F. beurling
Thread OP
Discussion

Anybody ever witnessed an aluminum wing joiner tube fail?

I'm getting ready to build an old 11.5 pound 95" Sr.Telemaster. The kit was designed with a one-piece wing and has a steep 8 dehedral angle which will only allow me to fit a 3/4" O.D. sized aluminum into it. I'll have the outer joiner sleeve sandwiched with epoxy firmly between the upper and lower 1/2" x 3/8" wing spars, and I'm not worried about the tube breaking out of the ribs. But I am more concerned about it breaking or bending in the center. The tube I have on hand is an aluminum flag pole with a .030 wall. Can this tube handle stress of an occasional roll or loop of a big 95" winged Tele? I could buy another 3/4" aluminum tube with a .050 wall for $18 but don't know if that is overkill & unnecessary. Being I'm not an engineer, I don't know how to calculate the stresses that this tube will take right there in the center wing joint where it should be most vulnerable. (if it's vulnerable at all) If you try to bend this flagpole on your knee, it's pretty darn strong.....and is why a large flag in a strong wind doesn't bend or break it all week long. But then again, a flag is not an 11 lb Telemaster doing loops.

Has anybody ever witnessed an aluminum joiner tube on a big plane crack or bend from stress?
Last edited by G.F. Beurling; Apr 20, 2018 at 11:39 PM. Reason: mention 11.5 weight, kit, & one -piece wing
to remove ads between posts
Apr 20, 2018, 07:21 PM
I bent/kinked one on a Great Planes Giant Sporster (84" I think). That tube was an inch or maybe more!

We all have our 'druthers, but I would reduce the dihedral a bit, especially if it meant allowing me to run a little larger OD tube.
Apr 20, 2018, 07:36 PM
If it flies, I can crash it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by G.F. Beurling View Post
The tube I have on hand is an aluminum flag pole with a .030 wall. Can this tube handle stress of an occasional roll or loop of a big 95" winged Tele?