Mar 30, 2018, 09:45 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Horizon Hobby/Tower Hobbies, No Military Discount?

Why don't places like Horizon Hobby, Tower Hobbies & so forth don't offer military/veteran discounts?
to remove ads between posts
Mar 30, 2018, 02:59 PM
most exalted one
Probably with Tower it is because with the discount they already offer, there is nothing more left. They are in bankruptcy so they were already losing money.
Mar 31, 2018, 01:26 PM
SBSS, SVSS, SCCMAS, EBRC
Some companies do not want to undercut their dealer network. If they offered that discount, then local hobby shops would be out-priced. Margins when you take into effect shipping, employees, keeping the lights on, rent, etc. is very low.
Apr 01, 2018, 08:26 AM
I'm not the pivot man
I am a veteran and disagree with offering discounts to active or past veterans. Just sits wrong with me; I did not serve so that later in life I get freebies or discounts.

Another point of view is it financially burdens the vendor and market, and puts at odds those that are pacifist or anti-war. I will buy a meal for a vet in a heartbeat but that is a personal decision made at that moment and the money loss is only to me and the act in no way will be controversial to anyone.
Apr 01, 2018, 12:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by FusterCluck
I am a veteran and disagree with offering discounts to active or past veterans. Just sits wrong with me; I did not serve so that later in life I get freebies or discounts.

Another point of view is it financially burdens the vendor and market, and puts at odds those that are pacifist or anti-war. I will buy a meal for a vet in a heartbeat but that is a personal decision made at that moment and the money loss is only to me and the act in no way will be controversial to anyone.
+1...... Our local LHS gives our club members a 10% discount & I'm quite happy with that.
Apr 01, 2018, 02:28 PM
A man with too many toys

Tower Club Discount