Mar 25, 2018, 06:07 PM
Foamy and Glider fanatic
Thread OP
Question

Opinions on Turnigy MultiStar Race Spec 4-in1 35A ESC

I'm really new to 4-in-1 ESCs and was looking at this one on HobbyKing's web site

Turnigy MultiStar Race Spec 4-in1 35A ESC for $34.66

I'm used to the old style single ESC. More specifically the ones with the inline BEC. I just started using OPTO ESCs. So I know next to NOTHING about these 4-in1 units

Anything I need to know about these? I'm thinking of pairing it up with a Omnibus Betaflight F4 PRO V2 Flight Controller STM32 F405 for $31.37

I assume I don't need a PDB anymore, right? The FC has a built in BEC so I'm assuming I would just tap off of the 4-in-1 and then go right to the FC.

Is there anything else I need to know about these 4-in-1 ESCs? DO they need more room for heat dissipation? Can I stack an FC on top of them? They look like they were built with this in mind.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 27, 2018, 01:29 AM
Agressive driver
You are correct that you won't need a PDB board and that the FC built in BEC powering the FC so you don't need another BEC. You can stack the flight controller on top of the 4 in 1 esc. It may cause it to run a little hotter but almost everyone builds this way and nobody seems to have heat problems
Mar 27, 2018, 11:49 AM
Thumper King
I used to be skeptical but ended buying the tekko32. Has larger pads and is a revision board with caps.

The way to go noways is to use a good 4in1 with caps on board and a pdb/fc combo that way you save some space and if the esc/bec dies it wont take the flight controller with it.
Jul 16, 2018, 03:56 AM
Motor rotation: