Leaning backwards in flight despite being front heavy? - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Mar 25, 2018, 11:17 AM
Help!

Leaning backwards in flight despite being front heavy?

Hey guys!

Beginner here trying out his first scratch foam build, I'm at my wits end trying to figure out why I'm getting some weird behavior from my build.

My plane seems to be leaning backwards while its flying despite me making sure the CG is balanced (at this flight it was actually way more front heavy in attempt to correct this stalling behavior)

here is a video link:
Flight_1 (0 min 22 sec)

No clue as to why it keeps doing this, I have broken so many propellers ( Even with prop saver)

I can post better pictures of the plane, or provide any extra information.

I just want this plane to fly T_T

Please let me know if I should be posting this in another category !
Last edited by jawsqb; Mar 25, 2018 at 08:18 PM. Reason: Added Pictures
to remove ads between posts
Mar 25, 2018, 11:47 AM
Scratch building addict
My first guess, check your wing incidence angle. I found that 1-1.5 degrees incidence is best. The wing incidence is the amount of "up" pointing of your wings relative to the horizontal stab (elevator surface). The hor. stab normally determines your attitude of the plane during flight. It should be parallel to a line that basically goes straight down the fuselage and not at any drastic angle relative to it.

The wing should be pointing slightly upwards (1-1. 5 degrees) in the front, relative to the stab.

The reason for this is that a proper CG is always in front of the center of lift of the wing. This results in a moment force which drives the nose downwards. Therefore when the wing is parallel to the ground, the hor. stab will be counteracting this force and pushing the nose back up slightly.

So I bet one of 2 things is happening

1. The leading edge (front) of your wing is up too high relative to the back.