Mar 10, 2018, 09:51 AM
Hot glue will fix anything!
Help!

Anyone know about electronics?

Hi, i have a dead 5.8ghz amplifier, it worked for all of 2 mins then the power led extinguished and the current draw went from the 2A normal pull when transmitting to drawing 1.4A regardless of input signal, and no longer transmits at all.

There is still a passthrough for the connected vtx.

certain components get very hot very fast, im not an expert on electronics but the grey box is an inductor? this gets uber hot in an instant, i know they get hot but this seems extreme , like theres a short?

next to it is a black oblong component with a terminal at each end, i have no idea what this is but it also gets very hot , as does the IC that lives next to them both.

further up the board, one of the IC's that i belive to be the outputs gets very hot but its twin opposite does not even get warm.

the circuit is pretty simple, as are most linear amplifiers, theres nothing on the other side of the pcb apart from traces to the led , fan and power input socket, absolutely everything important is contained on this side of the board.

I have good enough soldering skills to replace anything on the board apart from the outputs, those were clearly re flow mounted where is many other components were obviously hand soldered looking at the work.

I have a replacement being sent to me but if from the pictures and my description of the symptoms someone can point to a possible fix, id give it a go, its worth a try!

in my second image of the whole pcb, it is possible to see all the traces that are visible to the eye , it looks like a multi layer board, possibly traces under the heatsink on the other side but its stuck down very well , i removed the screws and tried to take it off for a peek but its stuck fast and ill likely damage the pcb trying to get it off.

the heatsink is totally flush with the pcb, theres definitely nothing under it apart from the pcb.

thanks in advance, steve.