Mar 09, 2018, 11:16 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

5mm x 36” bamboo spar vs carbon fiber for foam wings with wingspan 30” to 70”

Hey
I’ve read on a few threads that some folks used bamboo skewers for wing reinforcements and spars.

I was just wonder if anyone has any ideas on the weight to strength differences?
to remove ads between posts
Mar 09, 2018, 08:47 PM
bamboo skweres?? really? im using a wooden dowl on a 40" wing, on heavier 3d foamies a wooden spar can snap so cf is used instead...

I dont see how bbw skweres can offer any reinforcmentto such large wings.
Mar 09, 2018, 10:23 PM
treefinder
Bamboo actually has a great stiffness to weight ratio, so is often a good material to use. If you can find larger diameter skewers that are straight enough, they can be used as spars. C.F. is straighter and stronger, but more expensive , so it depends on how you fly and how much you want to spend. I generally use wood spars for planes in the 36 and larger sizes, but as a woodworker, I have lots of wood in all sizes. But I do use skewers for the smaller sizes and they fly well and are generally durable.
Mar 09, 2018, 11:40 PM
Wood spars don't need to be the length of the wing. Not much force at the tips unless you fly 100mph. I use wood spars or better yet, 30" arrow shafts up to 50".
Mar 10, 2018, 06:27 AM
gpw
gpw
“There’s no place like Foam”
We’ve used bamboo skewers and slats for everything for many years ( even long before Foamies) … they work great and almost never break , glue easily , and you CAN bend them to shape with heat … something you CAN’T do with CF … Although easily affordable and found in most any grocery store , there seems to be some bias and snobbery , by those who use CF … and although CF is the “latest thing” we never did like it … or need it … JMHO …