2.4Ghz vs 5.8Ghz - RC Groups
Mar 07, 2018, 10:18 AM

2.4Ghz vs 5.8Ghz

Hey guys,

I'm sure this is a basic question for most of you but I'm still new at this. Lets say I have a similar setup to most people... a 2.4Ghz radio for control, and 5.8Ghz for FPV.

I'm just wondering the range of both, and also how much do the different obstacles create interference, and how does 2.4 and 5.8GHz compare.

For example, what would a tree do to both? Would the 2.4GHz controls be less affected than the 5.8GHz video? My understanding is the lower frequency you go to, the more range you get and the less the obstacles affect you.

Ultimately, this question is to know if it would be safe to assume that as long as I have video signal on the 5.8GHz, I shouldn't loose radio control on the 2.4GHz. I'm always a bit nervous when the video gets fuzzy either because of distance, obstacles or both, that I might loose radio control.

Please consider I'm now using a screen instead of goggles (I like keeping BOTH FPV view and LOS, plus it's more "legal", especially when flying a full size quad). My ground station is nothing fancy, but I do have a small diversity module with an omni cloverleaf and a patch antenna which might make my FPV more reliable than it "should" compared to my 2.4GHz radio signal.

Last edited by Matt86; Mar 07, 2018 at 11:02 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 08, 2018, 08:06 AM
I work in a company working with electronics a lot. I went to ask this to my boss yesterday night. He claimed there really isn't much difference between 2.4Ghz and 5.8Ghz ranges. He THINKS I should always have control if I have video, just because of the quantity of data that needs to pass. If I have even just a bit of an image, it should still be PLENTY enough for the very small control frames to go through, even though I'm on omni Tx and Rx for the control and on a omni Tx and patch Rx on video! He was not 100% sure about this, but this was his feeling, I tend to believe him