Sudden control loss for a second - RC Groups
Mar 07, 2018, 12:53 AM
Right on the Edge!
Help!

Sudden control loss for a second

Hi there,

Yesterday my plane suddenly stopped responding to my inputs for about a sec, then it went back to normal. No crash luckily.

I imagine this is going to be a bit of a guess work, but do you guys know what could cause a 1sec-long control loss over the airplane, other than:

1. Tx or module failure/reset which would trigger failsafe (the plane didn't act as if failsafe was being triggered - I know this because the failsafe setting is full elevator up, and it's not what was happening).
2. Rx brownout (I use a 20A BEC which is set to 5,5 V, so I'd tend to exclude such overload).

I've seen this happening before on a friend of mine's plane, but to me it was the first time. I don't know if he ever solved the problem. I've been using this setup for some 5 years and I never had a problem before. Here's what I'm using:

1. FrSky DJT module with standard antenna
2. D8R-II plus

I'm not really knowledgeable in electronics, so I have little clue what to look for...

Thank you!
to remove ads between posts
Mar 07, 2018, 01:11 AM
Bo Edstrom, Sweden
Hi,
Can You describe how You have transmitter antenna pointed while flyiing in general and if you can remember at this flight in particular?

How is the receiver antennas mounted in the plane, a photo of the plane internal where receiver and antennas can be seen would be valuable.

You say You have used this setup for 5 years. During 5 years there can be some wear and tear, but almost impossible to tell if that has any infuence on the short non responding in stearing of Your plane.

What radio do You use?

What ESC/BEC do You use?

I suppose most suggestions to You will be a guess at this point but one should not overlook a simple thing as the antennas and their location, how they are pointing (both TX and RX) while flying (that is why I ask how the antennas are pointing above).