Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Mar 04, 2018, 09:57 PM
Discussion

Woodworking ............recently completed a simple project......my first project .

My background is in making things from metal.......precision things , I am a machinist that went back to school for Industrial controls engineering and manufacturing engineering . Woodworking is new to me , don't have any specific woodworking tools.......just hand tools....no table saw, band saw , planner or anything . Recently got a new TV and had a problem with it setting lower than the old one.......So I grabbed a sheet of paper and a tape and drew something up.......then off to Lowes . Really enjoyed making and staining this simple project and cant wait to take on something more complex . I will be shopping for some used woodworking stuff..........not going crazy but I really think I can get into this hobby ........hobby ? Trade ? whatever.......any suggestions on first...second....third purchase would be great . Anyone got a woodworking project to share ?
Mar 04, 2018, 10:00 PM
Trons and Fumes
Router.
Mar 04, 2018, 10:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrightme
Router.
Yeah.....then I could make the top of the new piece look like the old one .........thanks .
Mar 04, 2018, 10:29 PM
Clamps and vices. With woodworking many of your items will be glued or screwed and glued. to hold such things together, you'll need clamps. Since you've done precision machining, I would also recommend squares; specifically a carpenters square and a couple of speed squares.
Mar 04, 2018, 10:37 PM
Trons and Fumes
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyboy2
Yeah.....then I could make the top of the new piece look like the old one .........thanks .
Yep. It looks like you have a handle on the cutting and measuring; including the 'order of operations' for those two.

A router lets you make the fancy edges, as well as making nice square ones after a cut. And, leads in to joinery.
Mar 04, 2018, 10:44 PM
No retreat no surrender