Mar 03, 2018, 09:32 PM
Scratch building addict
Build Log

Mini p-40 23 inch

Well this is my first build log so go easy. I've done lots of scratch-built foamies , so many I lost count. But the ones that fly best are usually warbirds. Going back to my youth here - my first plane was a Cox control line Warhawk, those were the days.

Anyways I'm a little crazy calling this a build-log since every plane I make is different, and I run into different setbacks and successes each time. I am especially fond of the mini models at 2S - wingspan near 20 inches, that's the sweet spot that I can fly anywhere. My Nakajima Ki43 Oscar was built pretty much to scale at 23.5 inch wingspan and flew great, really stable and light, so I am doing a similar build with this p-40.

Quick summary of that build and this one. No plans, starting from 3-view, set tile print to proper wingspan, crop the areas of 3-view I need, print - cut - tape them together and glue to poster paper before cutting out as formers. Fuselage : X-method I call it as you see, with as few as possible cross section (egg-shape) formers, then wrapped with 1mm depron (that's the difficult bit). My Oscar has some 2mm and 3mm wrapped up front to give it more strenght, probably not needed so I will try with 100% depron wrapping and see if a paper model helps me in any way.

Wings for Oscar were dollar tree with paper left on, as was the X-fuselage. Wings then had a strip of foam about 3mm high and a 3mm CF rod, and 1mm depron over the top to form a basic airfoil. I've had great luck with KF wings on wings so I will go this route this time, and covered dollar tree foam peels too easily so externals will be paper removed with a bit of epoxy as a very thin layer in some cases.

I am out of 2000 kv motors at around 25 grams, so I will use a 1700Kv one and either go to 3s if it handles the weight, or go to a bigger 7-8 inch prop.

Enough talk, here's a few pics.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 03, 2018, 09:42 PM