Feb 06, 2018, 11:59 AM
Discussion

Aileron Diff with Expo in OpenTx

I'm trying to figure out a good way to establish Aileron Differential and Expo on an airplane with 2 aileron servos on separate channels.

I'm fairly new to OpenTx, I have been using a year and have successfully set up and flown several models (including the FrSky SxR Rx's), but this is the first time I tried to set up aileron diff. I have reviewed/searched OpenTXU, Youtube, Google, etc. but haven't found a great explanation on how to do this, at least one that I can follow. This is probably a learning experience best done by actual practice. I have a working solution now on the Companion simulator, but I was wondering if ppl well-versed in OpenTx could comment on what's good or bad about this solution.

Taranis X9D+, OpenTx 2.2.1

With the current model I'm working with, I decided to add two more temporary channels just to see how they simulate; channels 15 and 16 for R Ail and L Ail. These will eventually be eliminated when I find what I need to set up Aileron Diff and Expo on channels 1 & 5...

Mixes is where I usually set up Expo. I see there is a Diff option too, but if I use it, then I would have to establish Expo somehow else. I chose keep Expo as the selection for each channel under Mixes.

I decided to establish differential on the Inputs screen using two curves to define the motion. Curves 10 & 11. After playing around with the curve values, I got the results I was hoping for. I have now established Aileron Diff, and my normal 3-position Rates/Expo swt controls the output as I would expect.

Some of the things I notice about this solution are:
-If I want to change/edit the amount of Diff (currently 100/70), I have to edit two separate curves
-I can continue to edit Expo/Rates as I'm used to in the Mixes screen