Jan 31, 2018, 06:26 PM
Balsa Flies Better!
Thread OP
Question

Suggestions for an early turnaround airplane?

Gents (and ladies if there are any here)

I'm kicking around the idea of picking up a kit for a rainy day. I'm a sport flier, not a pattern flier. I tried competing (and finished where I deserved- at the bottom!) a couple of times back in the 70s when I was a kid-don't have the practice time, the eyesight, or the inclination to try to compete these days but I still like flying pattern airplanes. I discovered that there are a bunch of airplanes that I know nothing about- hence this thread. (I was in grad school in the 80s- wasn't building/flying much.)

Here's what I'm looking for-
1) glass fuse- preferably one that won't break the bank- think Leo's stuff is a bit out of my league- also don't think I'm a good enough pilot to tell the diff.
2) Early turnaround- like the look of the airplanes- don't want the speed of full ballistic. Being a long time electric flier and FF flier, I build light happily.
3) Will be electric- think a pipe tunnel is a waste here.
4) .60 size or smaller. I have a small car and I prefer one piece wings.
5) Will deal with retracts if needed- prefer electrics to pneumatics- but I fly off a grass field- might have a smooth dirt diamond for takeoff. Fixed gear is an advantage.

Note- have a balsa Curare with fixed taildragger gear under construction- will get back to it one of these days. If I could figure out the mount setup- I'd be happier.

Like the aesthetics of the Aurora- don't know the size though. Don't like the aesthetics of modern pattern ships.

TIA

Sam
to remove ads between posts
Jan 31, 2018, 07:08 PM
AMA 46133
>>Here's what I'm looking for-
1) glass fuse- preferably one that won't break the bank- think Leo's stuff is a bit out of my league- also don't think I'm a good enough pilot to tell the diff.