This thread is privately moderated by TinkleWid, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jan 28, 2018, 01:40 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Modifying the ViFly R130 Drone (+ Quelima SQ12 HD MiniCam)

List of contents:

1: Jumping head-first into the world of FPV
2: Purchasing My First Acro Drone
3: First Flights Compilation
4: Fixing a Battery Disconnect
5: Drone Fire (White Smoke)
6: Replacement 4-in-1 ESC
7: Replacing a Motor
8: Selecting Props
9: Adding an HD Camera

Preview
ViFly Drone 4S 850mah Raw Footage - Power and Range (4 min 55 sec)

1: Jumping head-first into the world of FPV

As a drone newbie I thought that I would share my experience of fvp freestyle for those that may be interested. In October 2017 I decided to purchase a racing drone and did not want to build one nor have to do anything too technical. However, within a couple of months I was taking apart, soldering and generally tinkering with my drone while looking to make improvements.

I got a lot of helpful information from my cousin who had already managed to rewire his brain for first person viewing. He had also built several drones so he got me up to speed with the basics very quickly. Prior to deciding to go acro, I owned a Hubsan X4 H107C and I tried also out the Bugs 3 and Bugs 6 drones which gave me some experience of the increased power and 'stabilised' mode.

2: Purchasing My First Acro Drone

I purchased the ViFly R130 v1 BNF, Jumper T8GS controller and VRD2 Pro Goggles from unmannedtech.co.uk. A close competitor to the ViFly R130 at the time was the Rodeo 110 but I fancied the 4S capability of the ViFy.

https://www.unmannedtechshop.co.uk/v...-rtf-bnf-v1-2/
(I got version 1 but I did upgrade the 4-in-1 ESC as explained later with waterproof coating and better placement of the battery extension lead)

https://www.unmannedtechshop.co.uk/j...compact-radio/
(A compact and versatile controller which I have set-up to use with LiftOff, Hubsan and ViFly R130)