Jan 17, 2018, 07:32 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Royal Navy 12 gun Brig of 1840

And The Adventure Begins! I’ve Never done this before!

I have always, since about age 8, wanted to build a full rigged ship model and sail it. Now age 8 for me was the middle of the last century so I guess I need to hurry up! I have built one RC controlled two masted schooner from a kit about two years ago. The hull was slab sided flat bottomed plywood and the kit came with everything except varnish and batteries. My first RC experience.

This one will be a scratch built, bulkhead and planked hull. All new to me! I have had a Discussion Thread going for a month or so to help me figure out how to get there from here.

I have been researching off and on for several years. I started to build a model of the USS Lexington of the Revolutionary War period. I scaled it up from a book called “The Built-up Ship Model”, by Charles G. Davis. As an experiment I built a mock-up of the frame and bulkheads and keel from foam filled poster board using hot glue, But I never got any further. The hull would have been about 3 feet. I was corresponding with a Brit named Mike Taylor from the Scale Sail Assn. at the time, but I lost contact him at the end of 1998. I still have all that correspondence and some notes. I also still have my scaled up hull plan somewhere. The mock-up got destroyed and lost since then. Life gets in the way.

This time I have a full set of modeling plans from Model Dockyard. The plan drawing is for about a 30 inch hull at the waterline, and about 40 or so to the end of the bowsprit. I am going to go with the full size as drawn.

I decided to try out another mock-up with my foam board technique except I am going to build it on a ¼” plywood keel. I am going to attempt to plank it with balsa planks if it turns out OK. At worst I will have a full set of patterns.

That’s the Plan,
Rod
to remove ads between posts
Jan 17, 2018, 08:11 PM
Thread OP
To Begin...